Routine to overcome anxiety

Anxiety and loss have been very real feelings during this past year.  Being intentional about how I face these feelings of loss have helped me cope.  

I saw a short video last week where a person who had struggled with depression in the past, shared that routines were an important part of staying mentally healthy.  It hit me as I watched the video how many routines and normal activities have been disrupted in my life by Covid-19.

Routines help us to feel grounded and help us navigate the day with fewer decisions to make.  During times of stress and upheaval, routines can bring peace.   For example, knowing every Tuesday night is taco salad night lowers the stress around what to eat for dinner.  Having regularly scheduled mealtimes and snacks keeps our bodies fueled and operating at their optimum.  Nighttime routines can help us drift off to sleep and stay asleep longer.  Even the natural world around us follows routines.  Thank goodness for the changing seasons and the sunrise each new day.

Recent sunrise outside our home. Thank you God for the routines of each day.

Routines are also very important for children.  When you’re not the person in charge, it is nice to at least know what is happening next.  Having a routine creates security and predictability.  Keeping regular meals and bedtimes help children feel well mentally, emotionally, and physically.  I’m not always the best at keeping routines going in my family, but acknowledging  how helpful they are not only for me, but also for my children, helps me to put more effort into making them happen.

Also, routines create the perfect opportunity for the occasional joyful surprise.  And who doesn’t need one of those every once in a while?

What are the routines getting you through the unpredictable winter weather, Covid-19, and just life in general?

God of the day and night and Creator of the seasons, thank you for the routines you have created.  Thank you for being ever present in our lives, even in the smallest routines.  AMEN

Published by Gwen Lantz

Stay-at-home-Jill-of-all-trades I am hoping to create connections with people and the world around me, while being creatively engaged in what is happening right in front of my nose!

2 thoughts on “Routine to overcome anxiety

  1. I love that my “inflexibility” can be reframed as a grounding routine 🙂 May we continue to find ways to nurture health and wellbeing for ourselves and our families in these days…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started